hands

I am in Victoria, BC, a city I’ve visited many times.
This visit, I discovered in plain view yet not seen before
The Hands of Time
a series of sculptures depicting
life-sized hands
engaged in activities honouring Victoria’s history.
Artist – Crystal Przybille

I walked around, brochure map in hand and I had
to look
so as
   to see

Carving a Canoe Paddle
emerging from bedrock
to reference Lekwungen culture, past and present

Tying a Rope to a Mooring Ring
remembering the arrival of the first tall ships and
Victoria’s nautical identity

Performing with a Fan
symbolizing resident Chinese culture

Panning for Gold
a reminder of the Gold Rush of 1858
that brought many people to Fort Victoria

carving, tying, performing, panning
    and more …
holding
raising
cupping
digging
carrying

and more

hands

***

Human hands
like the sculptures
in plain view yet perhaps
under appreciated.

Human hands
various shapes, hues, ages, strengths
engaged differently and similarly.

***
Recently, my grand daughter said:
Nana, the skin on your hands is loose.
Mine is smooth.
That’s because I’m young and you’re old.

Ha … a true and accurate observation!

***

I invite you to look at your hands
to
see
their
history.

Take a few moments to honour your hands

with your own words.

***

These hands
my hands
strong, firm, tanned
aged, gnarled, spotted
recently bruised
scarred years ago

These hands
turn off the light at night
raise me out of bed in the morning
button, zip, hold my cereal spoon

These hands
bathe, rub, scratch, massage
hold, carry, select
tie, knit, stitch, hammer, scan, click
plant, pull, cut, stir

These hands
write, paint, play, sculpt
point, gesture, spell, mime

These hands
hold, stroke, cuddle, caress
reach out
and
rest.

***

These hands
your hands
have lived your life
in
verbs

actions
depicting
history

your history

your hands

*** ***** *

 

 

2 thoughts on “hands

  1. Thanks again Cheryl . . . always so thoughtful and meditative . . . what we have in common . . . and a call to see and honour ourselves and others as we move through our days . . .

    Like

  2. Cheryl, this piece on “hands” was so profound. I remember being swept away by a lecture on the Anatomy of the Hand in the second year of Med Rehabilitation, 1972. The hand is a truly artistic and scientific wonder.

    Like

Leave a comment