Lo

Earlier this week,
I spent an afternoon shopping in Kenora’s downtown area.
My last stop was Shoppers.
I stood in the cashier line with several small items
precariously balanced in my hands.
My thought process was something like:
I wonder how long this will take
wish I’d brought a bag
I’m hungry, no wonder, it must be close to supper
supper … what will we have?
I should text my husband to tell him I’m running late
can’t … I’d drop all these things

and then
a loud voice was heard.
A man shouted:
Everyone … look at the sunset!
Don’t miss it!
Look!!!

As I lifted my head from my purchases
I saw
the most amazing orange-red sky blazing through the window.
How could I NOT have noticed this?

A quiet descended upon the store
as we stood in the glory of it all.
After paying, many of us huddled together outside on the sidewalk
to
continue
gazing
into
the
night
sky.

***

For me, there is a moment when I know it is
Christmas
and this is when
I hear
The Story
read out loud …

And there were in the same country
shepherds
abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.
and
Lo
the angel of the Lord came upon them
and the glory of the Lord shone around them
( Luke 2: 8 … )

When I have been the one to read these words
during a Christmas Eve service
I recall having to
take a deep breath before speaking them …
such is their importance.

That little word
Lo
an old word
no longer used in everyday communication
signals

stop
look
pay attention
focus
you don’t want to miss this.

People of Christian faith
shop and wrap and cook and make lists and feel the pressure
of this holiday time just like everyone else
participating in the cultural part of the season
and yet
it is
The Story
that is significant
our religious-spiritual focus
and
we don’t want to miss it.

Lo
see the shepherds raising their eyes to the sky
Lo
be in awe of the angel song
Lo
follow the star to
the place where Love is born
Lo
look upon the vulnerable babe

pause
breathe
and

Lo

notice the stirring of the heart

as
deep
calming

wonder
and
joy

enters in.

*** ***** *



3 thoughts on “Lo

  1. Thank you dear Cheryl for again capturing the moment of the season for me, whatever that
    moment is. This moment is the word, Lo and the images sent across the prairies from Kenora
    to Alberta, like a miracle, through the sky. As we who huddle together to read your messages,
    known through the feedback page, we then get to share with others your creative, human
    moments of being held in awe by hope, love and faith.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment